Radio Philharmonic Orchestra


The Radio Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1945 by Albert van Raalte and subsequently led by Bernard Haitink, Edo de Waart, Jaap van Zweden and Markus Stenz, to name a few. The orchestra has performed at the Holland Festival since 1951. The American Karina Canellakis has been the chief conductor since September 2019. The orchestra stands out with (world) premieres of surprisingly programmed symphonic concerts and concertante opera performances. The Radio Philharmonic Orchestra has also built an impressive catalogue of albums.

Guest conductors

Leopold Stokowski, Kirill Kondrashin, Riccardo Muti, Mariss Jansons, Michael Tilson Thomas, Vasily Petrenko, Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Jurowski, James Gaffigan (principal guest conductor since 2011)

Commissions/world premieres from

Luciano Berio, Pierre Boulez, John Adams, Harrison Birtwistle, Richard Rijnvos 

Albums (selection)

2018 Melodies Unheard, Robin de Raaff

2019 Lessons in Love and Violence, George Benjamin 

2020 Atlantis, Robin de Raaff

2021 Requiem Willem Jeths

2021 Symphony No. 7, Anton Bruckner

2022 The Tell-Tale Heart, Willem Jeths


2014 Edison Oeuvre Award

2017 Concertgebouw Prize, together with the Netherlands Radio Choir

Previously at the Holland Festival

2014 the CIVIL warS – Rome

2015 All’infinito

2015 12 Hour PROM: work from Ravel, Boulez and Xenakis

2016 Wozzeck en de misère van de gewone man

2016 Holland Festival Proms: Solar Trilogy

2017 Het nieuwe Babylon

2017 Holland Festival Proms: Sacred Environment

2018 Lessons in Love and Violence 

2018 Holland Festival Proms: Sometime Voices