Groot Omroepkoor


The Netherlands Radio Choir is the only choir in the Netherlands that performs the vast choral symphonic repertoire on a professional level. Since its founding in 1945, the choir performs a broad repertoire that ranges from romantic to contemporary. The choir is closely affiliated with the Dutch Public Broadcasting NPO. The greater share of the concerts is part of the NPO broadcast series NTR ZaterdagMatinee and Zondagochtend Concert (both in the Concertgebouw) and the AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert (TivoliVredenburg). Its current conductors are Benjamin Goodson (chief conductor), Peter Dijkstra (first guest conductor) and Michael Gläser (permanent guest conductor)

Guest conductors

Including: Jean Fournet, Eugen Jochum, Carlo Maria Giulini, Benjamin Britten, Bernard Haitink, Marcus Creed, Peter Dijkstra, Frans Brüggen, Philippe Herreweghe, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Ton Koopman, Jaap van Zweden, Riccardo Chailly, Peter Eötvös, Sir Simon Rattle, Mariss Jansons


Radio Philharmonic Orchestra

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

Berliner Philharmoniker

Commissions and (world) premieres (selection)

Dutch composers such as Giel Vleggaar and international contemporary composers including John Adams, György Ligeti and Harrison Birtwistle

Albums (selection)

2017 Complete Works for Ensemble and Choir, György Kurtág

2018 Horizon 8 – Nasimi Passion, Franghiz Ali-Zadeh

2020 75 Jaar - Diamanten Pracht anniversary album

2020 Atlantis, Robin de Raaff

2021 Requiem, Willem Jeths


2017 Concertgebouw Prize, together with the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra 

2020 Gemeentespeld of Hilversum